Obsidian Trilogy

-- Illustrated fantasy novel --
Updates thrice a week


About "Obsidian Trilogy"

The books of "Obsidian Trilogy" are "Cold obsidian", "Hot obsidian", and "Smoky obsidian".

In "Cold obsidian" we will follow the story of a young man who becomes an apprentice of the creators of his world and gets involved in their affairs.
In "Hot obsidian" we will follow the story of a boy raised by a mysterious Hot Obsidian cult with a purpose that is as great as it is sinister.
In "Smoky obsidian" we will watch both their stories collide.

The story is set in a world - Omnis - where magic is stabilized artificially so the humans would be able to use it. In the middle of the main continent, where the stabilizers cancel each other, lies the No Man's Land - a territory of wild magic and magical anomalies. One day, an unknown thief steals the most useless thing in the world, thing that holds no power of its own and promises no riches - one of the stabilizers...

"Obsidian Trilogy" was written by Olga Makarova in Russian but later translated into English by the author.
The poems in the story were translated by Alan Jackson. If you are curious about the translation process or want to look at the Russian originals of the poems, visit the Extras page.


About the plot of the story

Omnis is a world of unstable magic where all creatures are born with the natural ability to stabilize and use it. All creatures, besides humans. They were the only species that inherited the flaw of their creators - the immortal worldholders responsible for the very existence of Omnis.

To make things right, the worldholders created a system of three Horas with Hora Tenebris as the magic disperser and two other Horas - Solaris and Lunaris - as the stabilizers existing in equilibrium with each other. Inside the stabilized areas humans are free from their natural flaw and have full access to stable magic. But in a broad area where the stabilizers’ zones of influence intersect the magic is wild, anomalous. That area, known as No Man’s Land, divides Omnis in two.

Horas are the foundation of human civilization in Omnis. They look like precious gems encased in gold and silver. They are protected by magic that would destroy anyone who dared to touch them unless it’s a worldholder as well. They are impossible to steal. Even more: stealing them is useless, because they have no secret powers at all. Yet someone has stolen them nonetheless.

Who is the thief? What does he or she want? How did they overcome the protective spell? The worldholders themselves are puzzled. One thing is certain here: something big is going on.

About the illustrations

The illustrations in the story are ink drawings made by Olga Makarova (author of "Obsidian Trilogy" and "Gifts of wandering ice"). The intention was to make the story look more like a travel journal or an adventurer's guide that an illustrated novel or a comic. This is why you will see a lot of objects, buildings, landscapes and very few scenes where characters interact in some way.

About the author

Olga Makarova is a Russian sci-fi and fantasy writer. She was born in 1985 in Ufa and still lives there, working as a 3D-artist in a local animation studio by day and creating her own stories by night.

Olga's stories available in English:
Gifts of wandering ice
Tales from the Afterworld
Ice gift

Comic Rocket ad exchange: